Peam Bang / Kampong Thom

Sustainable Fisheries Conservation Management Through Collaborative Approach In Boeung Chhmar, Kampong Thom Province (2016 - 2018)


The Boeung Chhmar-associated creek system is a globally recognized wetland under the Ramsar Convention, and is also one of the three core areas of the Tonle Sap Biosphere Reserve. the Boeung Chhmar’s core area lies within the Peam Bang Commune which has a Community Protected Area (CPA) and four Community Fisheries (CFi) areas, thus the presence of the Ministry of Environment(MoE) and the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries(MAFF), specifically the Fisheries Administration (FiA) in predominant. 

Moreover, although co-management arrangements have been introduced in the area, the adoption of ‘practice’ has, without targeted NGO support, been slow to progress, due to inadequate coordination among key stakeholders and a lack of familiarity with community-based resource management models. Meanwhile, there is a need to scale up the Fish Conservation Area (FCA) approach, while addressing the impact on these areas of broader threats to the flooded forest and other vital ecological features outside of the FCAs.

Supported by the Critical Ecosystem Partnership Fund (CEPF), the project is being implemented in two CFi's, Peam Bang Senchey and Doun Sdueng Senchey, located in the Peam Bang Commune of the Stung District, Kampong Thom Province. The aims of the project to enhance co-management arrangements among relevant stakeholders in Peam Bang Commune, to strengthen the management of the fisheries resources through ecological landscape and FCA approaches and the creation of operative management plans, and to support CFi institutional development, including planning for CFi financial sustainability. These actions will enable more effective collaboration in sharing information and resources and cohesive action for the sustainability of the fishery resources, among CFi and community members; non-members, including seasonal fishers and other currently marginalized groups, and relevant local authorities, including Commune Councils, FIA Cantonment and the MoE.